The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón – Read-along

angelsgameI tend to read very fast. I am able to speed-read and sometimes when a book is really gripping, I tear through it at neck-breaking speed. This is of course detrimental to the enjoyment of a book, and sometimes it results in me finishing the book really confused. Probably because I speed-read over an essential part of the book.

This was the case with The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. I loved the book and the moods and emotions it evoked, but when I got to the end of it, I was really confused. I didn’t know if I liked the book or hated it. I leaned more to the side of dislike, but I am suspicious that it is because I missed something essential.

So I have decided to reread the book. I am going to take it slow this time. In fact, I am going to read it a few chapters at a time and then I am going to blog a short recap of the chapters along with my thoughts about them. I invite you to read along with me and please jump in at the comments to let me know what you thought of the book as a whole or of the chapters I have discussed. Maybe together we can make some sense of it. And maybe by the end of the book all will be clear to me, who knows? I am going to try to post my recaps regularly. There are three parts to the book and 91 chapters in total, so hopefully by doing a few chapters a week we can cover the whole book in a bit over 6 months. It should be interesting.

I am planning to post the first read-along this weekend and then I will try my best to keep up the pace.

Leave a Reply

