Book review – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

This is going to be a fairly short review, as I read this quite a while ago, so I don’t have an in-depth analysis. I didn’t really think of reviewing the book as I was reading it, but it was such a good book that I wanted to at least bring it to your attention.

fault in our starsThe Fault in Our Stars is narrated by Hazel, a sixteen year old cancer patient whose parents send her to a support group. At the group she meets Augustus Waters with whom she forms a friendship which grows into something more significant. The story then follows the two of them through their struggle to lead as normal a life as possible while facing a terrible illness.

There is also a subplot where Hazel and Augustus go to the Netherlands to seek out their favourite author Peter van Houten who write the book An Imperial Affliction, as they want to find out what happened to the characters in the book after the book ended.

This book is classified as Young Adult, although I have to say I never really pay attention to those kinds of classifications. I guess as soon as a narrator or main character is a teenager the book is classified YA, but that should not deter any adult from reading it (not that it often does, in my opinion).

It is definitely a read I can heartily recommend. I was quite annoyed by the Peter van Houten sub plot, but it does end up fitting very well into the story, not the least because of what happened with Augustus and Hazel when they are in the Netherlands.

Of course this is a heart-wrenching story that will make you ugly-cry. I read it in one sitting when we were on a mini-break in London and I finished it in the middle of the night in the hotel room. As my husband and kids were in the room too I had to move into the bathroom to have a good cry about it. But it is a very topical book; there are so many people, including children, with cancer and there are very few books that deal with the issue in such a direct way. Or maybe I have just not read any of them, but I thought it was very enlightening to crawl into the mind of a sixteen year old girl with cancer and see the struggles she faces. Not only the obvious ones, but especially ones you wouldn’t really think of.

So whether you are into YA books or not, you can’t go wrong with reading this one.

One thought on “Book review – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. Thanks for your review! I’ll put it on my wishlist. I love your having to go to the bathroom to have a good cry! I recognise that!

Leave a Reply

