NaNoWriMo

It is already the middle of October, we’re creeping slowly toward Halloween and where has the time gone? Not too long ago I was enjoying the sunshine on Lanzarote and now we are getting ready for winter. My exams are getting closer too, so I have been spending more and more time studying, evidence of which can be seen  by the sparsity of posts on my blog. My apologies for that.

It being the middle of October also means that we are getting closer to November, and to National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo for short. Now I know that a number of my readers and quite a few of the bloggers I follow will be participating in NaNo this year. Also my Twitter account is buzzing with exciting news from the NaNoWriMo organisers as well as the local NaNoWriMo groups I participated in last year. Everyone is plotting or at least thinking of an idea they can develop while writing for those who don’t like to plot.

And me? I am forced to let this year pass by. Three of my sisters who I tried to hard to get to do NaNoWriMo with me last year (one of them did) are doing it this year and I have to stand at the sidelines looking on. I don’t have any ideas, no plots, nothing. Well…maybe a few ideas, but none that are developed at all. Because this year I am forced to concentrate on my studying and my coming exams in May. It seems so far away, but November is going to be busy anyhow. I have a few courses, work will be busy and I have to start studying for the May exam as far in advance as possible as it’s going to be a difficult one.

So I try to shut away my creative spirit for another year. I am not going to torment myself by going to the NaNoWriMo website, or read the forums or anything else. However, I will support and encourage my sisters and follow their progress. I am sure they will do just fine!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I admire you, big sister! This is just something you have to do, so it’s good to focus on that. Good luck with it all!
    But one thing is for sure: NaNoWriMo won’t be the same without you (I alreafy miss you).

    Hope we won’t frustrate you with our tweets. Let us know if we do; we’ll tone it down.

    Kiss!

  2. I’m always tempted this time of the year, but I won’t be doing it either so I know how you feel. To really do it, everything but writing has to be shut out and I just can’t do that right now. I also don’t want to abandon the novel I’ve been revising for forever because maybe someday it’ll be done. Good luck with your studies!

    Just wanted to let you know that the books of the person doing this blog: http://barsetshirediaries.wordpress.com/ have been compared to Wodehouse. I haven’t read them yet, but they’re on my list. In the meantime, his blog is entertaining.

    • A few days after writing my blog post I decided to participate after all. I’ll be pantsing it as I haven’t planned anything, but I want to write at least something. We’ll see how it goes.

      thanks for the link to that blog, I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

