The PG Wodehouse Society

What a wonderful surprise was waiting for me when I came home from work today! A mysterious envelope which, once opened up, revealed a welcome letter from the P.G. Wodehouse Society along with the latest issue of Wooster Sauce and some other sheets of information. I am now officially a member of the P.G. Wodehouse Society and I am tickled pink!

I cannot believe it took me two years of living here to become a member. I had read about the Society in the back of my Wodehouse books back when I was living in the Netherlands (we’re talking at least 13 years ago) and I always lamented the fact that I did not live in England and therefore, being a member of the Society would really not do me any good. (This was of course not true, as members outside of England are just as valued, but it is true that most events take place in England.) I had printed off the registration form months ago with the intention to send it off and become a member, but somehow the form ended up in a pile of other papers at work and I forgot about it. Too wrapped up in studies and work and tax, tax, tax, to remember I have outside interests. Luckily I found the form again a week ago as I was cleaning up my desk and I hesitated not a moment. I filled out my banking details for the measly £22 subscription price and sent in my form.

The first couple of days after I sent in my form, I eagerly awaited news from the Society to confirm they had received my registration. But because Royal Mail needs a day or two to deliver my letter and the good people at the Society needed a few days to process my registration, it was only today that the letter arrived. I had already sort of forgotten about my registration (I know, I possess very little brain cells anymore these days), so it was a wonderful surprise to receive this in the mail. I have already devoured some articles in Wooster Sauce and have eagerly entered some of the events dates into my calendar. I cannot wait to go to my first event, at the end of October, and meet fellow Wodehousians.

I could go on and on, but I might start to sound a bit hysterical. Regular readers of my blog will know how much I love Wodehouse and apart from my mom, I don’t really know many people who have even heard of him, much less love him as much as I do. Soon I will meet people who I am sure will intimidate me with their vast knowledge of Wodehouse’s books (take a gander at the weekly quizzes on the website, and you’ll be intimidated too), but with whom I can share my love and admiration. I will definitely report back here after my first event!

8 thoughts on “The PG Wodehouse Society

  1. Oh my, I’m so jealous! Living in the States, I don’t think there is such an organization, but there should be. I have a couple of shelves full of his books.
    Also reminds me of when I was a kid, traveling, and my parents bought me Puffin books. I was so disappointed that I couldn’t belong to the Puffin Club because I didn’t live in England.

  2. Oh wow!!! This is absolutely great!!! I didn’t even know there was a Wodehouse Society! It almost makes me want to go and live in England!

  3. That’s great – I can really feel your excitement! Are you on Goodreads? I bet there are Wodehouse discussion groups and fans to virtually meet there. I’m sure it’ll be more exciting to meet them in person though.

    • No, I am not on Goodreads, I have actually heard a lot of bad things about it, so I decided not to join. But I am sure there are lots of online communities enjoying Wodehouse’s work. It will be nice to meet people in person though…

Leave a Reply

