Checking in

I have been in the Netherlands for almost a week now, a week in which I was going to edit the rest of my manuscript on paper and then incorporate all those changes on the computer. So far, I have only managed to edit my whole manuscript on paper, which in and of itself is an achievement I am quite proud of. No more scribbling with my red pen, now the real work of writing all those changes out on the computer can begin.

I have to admit I am not as far as I hoped to be, but I have treated this week as a holiday, a break from work and my regular life and because the kids were with me, I have spent quite a bit of time with them as well. I have also read a number of books, because of course not bringing books to my parents’ house hardly stops me reading with my mom having over 1000 books in the house. But I am still happy with my progress, even though it probably means I have to still lug my whole manuscript back to England at the end of my trip. But by then hubby will be with me, so he can do the heavy lifting :-).

One other thing that editing on paper for a longer period of time achieved is that I am proud of my book, I have faith in it again and I am excited to rewrite and enhance my story. I always swing back and forth between wanting to abandon the whole book and being motivated to make it the best possible book, so it’s good to be on the upswing again.

I will need to keep that momentum going over the next few weeks, because in a masochistic move I have decided to study again for yet another (but this time the last) tax qualification. I will need it if I ever want to leave my job and I figured now would be as good a time to do it as ever. At least then I can get it over with soon. So for the next two years studying will most likely dominate my whole existence, but I hope to still work on my book in any spare moments I can find.

4 thoughts on “Checking in

  1. That’s great that you were able to get that far with it! Editing on paper is so much better than editing on the computer so I’m sure all that lugging around was worth it.

Leave a Reply

