World Book Night

Okay, I totally forgot about World Book Night and it is coming up in a couple of weeks, on 23 April! As part of World Book Night I have been selected to give away 25 copies of my chosen book. I chose The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, which I reviewed on this blog a little while ago (click here for a refresher) and which I am very excited about. I realise it is not everyone’s cup of tea, but it was by far the best book from the selection (in my opinion).

For those of you who are not familiar with World Book Night, you can learn more here. It is a really neat initiative to bring  more awareness of reading to people who do not normally read. I was a WBN giver in 2011, when I handed out 50 copies of A Fine Balance. A lot of my coworkers are not really readers, and they had a hard time with A Fine Balance, which admittedly is a very thick book and was maybe not the best choice (although it is a lovely book). I think those coworkers will find The Eyre Affair a lot more enjoyable. Apart from my non-reading coworkers I am planning to hand out some books at my local shopping centre and at my son’s school. With only 25 copies it should be a lot easier, although I handed out a lot of my 2011 copies at hospitals.

I am hoping there will be some events organised in my home town, last year the local Waterstone’s did a quiz which was great fun!

Is anyone else going to be a World Book Night giver, if so, please share which book you will give away and how you are going to do it!

One thought on “World Book Night

Leave a Reply

