Book review – Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

Remember meI am not a huge fan of chick lit, but every now and then I like to just relax with a light read. Quite some time ago, I read the Shopaholic books by Sophie Kinsella and although I thought the first one was very amusing, by the time I read the third, I was thoroughly sick of the same-ness of the books. So I decided not to read more books by Sophie Kinsella. However, a couple of weeks ago I had a very stressful week and I was not in the mood to read anything heavy. Someone had sent me Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella and since I didn’t really have anything else light to read, I decided to give Sophie another chance. I was not disappointed.

Remember Me? is the story of Lexi who wakes up after a car accident having forgotten the last three years of her life. As she recovers in the hospital, she finds out to her horror that she is married. But her husband Eric is a gorgeous millionaire and Lexi looks amazing herself with new bright white, straight teeth and a body to die for. She is thrilled with her new life, but as she returns to her home and slowly integrates back into her life, she finds out that not all is great. Her friends are strangers to her and her husband is not quite as nice and caring as he seems. And when her husband’s architect tells her that they are lovers, Lexi does not know anymore who she can believe and who she can trust.

I was impressed with the research Sophie Kinsella put into amnesia, Lexi’s confusion and disorientation in her life feel very believable. The not-s0-surprising romance between Lexi and Jon is played out very well too. Sophie Kinsella keeps her readers guessing as to what happened to Lexi to make her so ambitious and power hungry and the explanation is not entirely far fetched. I still think that her friends would not treat her the way they did had been more sympathetic and better friends. I also liked the way Lexi interacts with her housekeeper and the way that “relationship” develops.

The subplot of Lexi at work was done well too. At first you don’t understand how Lexi could have risen so high as fast as she did, as she seems (and is) very much out of her depth in her job. However, towards the end when she is fed up and wants to save the department, she really pulls it together and gets her revenge in a creative way. Maybe a bit far fetched, but not completely incredible.

The things I did not like about the book were the character of Lexi’s sister. I was a bit disappointed that there was no real explanation of her problems, I sort of expected her behavioural problems to have started because Lexi started being focused on her career, and although this is never spelt out in the book, it could have been the explanation. I really liked the way the book ended and I wish Sophie Kinsella had not felt the need to add the last chapter in the book where everything is solved. Even the impossible sister with her behavioural problems has all of a sudden sorted herself out without a satisfactory reason. This is definitely a good example of a “forced happy ending” as Schnudelumpfe mentioned in the comments of my blog post about things that annoy me in books. It would have been a better book without that chapter, in my opinion.

All in all it was a very enjoyable light read, but not too dummied down. Definitely an improvement over the Shopaholic books.

4 thoughts on “Book review – Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Yes, I agree, it’s a nice light read. But I must confess I did have quite a lot of ” yeah, sure!” moments (if you know what I mean).

  2. Wow, I got quoted! Thanks for the review, I’ll keep it in mind as a ‘light read’. Might I suggest you do a review of one of Carlos Ruiz Safron’s novels…? Would like to know what you think of it!

  3. I read this book couple years ago and I don’t remember some details, but I need to know some of them 🙂 I’m trying to find a climax or resolution in this story, but I’m not sure. Does meeting with Lexie’s mom’s house in Kent and finding out out about her dad’s financial problems and jail, and then that she saw when her boyfriend Dave cheated on her and that girl calls her ‘Dracula’ can be considered as a resolution in this story? Or maybe there is other good example of it?
    I will be very grateful if you help me 🙂
    Best wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

