Book review – Private Sector by Brian Haig

I will start by saying that I don’t understand why Brian Haig is not more popular than he is. His characters are well written and often funny, the plots are complex and full of suspense and the ending is always surprising. Maybe the writing is just too intelligent for the average reader, I don’t know. But I wish he was more celebrated, he definitely deserves it.

Private Sector is the fourth book in the Sean Drummond series. Sean Drummond is a JAG officer who is part of a group of army lawyers who defend black ops soldiers whenever they get into trouble. In the first three books in the series Sean has been in a few tricky situations which he was able to extricate himself from successfully. Now his boss, General Cooper, is sending him to a private law firm as part of a Working With Industry Program. Sean is determined to be kicked out of the program and back into the army as soon as he can, but when his predecessor and friend is murdered, he decides to stay on a bit longer in order to get to the bottom of her death.

I really loved this book, as I do all Sean Drummond books. This one is a bit different, as it is set in the world of private law and Sean’s thoughts and comments on the wonderful, sleezy world of private law are priceless. Sean teams up with his friend’s sister Janet and together they uncover who is behind the murder of not only Lisa, but also three other women. Of course the army is involved, Sean and Janet are ordered to stay out of it all, but Sean takes justice into his own hands and settles things satisfactorily.

The only bit I did not like about the book was the parts that were written from the killer’s point of view. I am not a big fan of the switch between first person and third person narrative even when it serves a clear purpose. Here I found it detracted from the story. I read the book the first time with the parts from the killer in it, and when I read it the second time, I skipped those bits. I cannot say that the story was more difficult to follow without knowing what the killer was up to.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable book that kept me on the edge of my seat. I can heartily recommend it!

3 thoughts on “Book review – Private Sector by Brian Haig

  1. I guess I’ll have to start reading him too! Dad loves the guy (as an author, I should hope!) and often reads out funny bits to me. Who knows, I might even get to like him too!

Leave a Reply

